Halesowen Flower Club

with No Comments

Halesowen Flower ClubAs the weather warms it’s beginning to feel like spring is upon us and that’s a very exciting time for those with green fingers. It is especially true for the Halesowen Flower Club, a group of local people which meets monthly to appreciate the fine art of flower arranging.

Every second Thursday of the month, the club meets at the Halesowen Library for a flower arranging demonstration. Each session allows the group to watch arrangements been made by national experts such as Elizabeth Graham (National Demonstrator for Wales), Nigel Whyles (National Demonstrator from Telford) and Yolanda Campbell (NAFAS qualified Demonstrator). Every meeting also features a raffle with the prize being the beautiful floral designs made by the demonstrators.

The dates and themes for the 2016 demonstrations are as follows and the club would like to welcome new members:

April 14th
Elizabeth Graham (Newport) – ‘Colours of Spring’

May 12th
Lorena Dyer (Coventry) – ‘A Moment in Time’
Rosebowl Competition – ‘Dreaming of Distant Shores’

OPEN MEETING – CORNBOW HALL – 6.30pm for 7.30pm
Nigel Whyles (Telford) – ‘The Magic of the Musicals’

July 14th
Sharon Badger (Leics) – ‘In a Dream World’

August 11th
Pat Billing (Leics) – ‘Angles and Tangles’

September 8th
Marie Munday (Glos) – ‘A Day Trip to London’

October 13th
A.G.M. and Talk (to be announced)
Coin Comp: ‘Season of Mists and Mellow Fruitfulness’

November 10th
Yolande Campbell (Hereford) – ‘It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas’

December 8th
Margaret Walker (Glos) – ‘Christmas Story’

Club meetings start at 7.30pm at the Shenstone Theatre, Level 7, Halesowen Library, Cornbow Centre, Halesowen, B63 4AJ (see map below). Please note the only exception is the June meeting which will be held on Wednesday 8th June at the Cornbow Hall, Pool Rd, Halesowen B63 3AB.

Membership to the 44 year old Halesowen Flower Club is £35 per year, or £5.00 per meeting for visitors. For more information please contact Lesley Pitts, Membership Secretary telephone 0121 550 7653.